Winners Australia, runners-up India to receive whopping prize money

Despite their victory over Australia in the final of the Cricket World Cup, India are set to receive a large amount of prize money. Here are all the details of the prize money for the World Cup winners and runners-up.

Australia’s Cricket World Cup players celebrate after beating India in the final in Ahmedabad on Sunday. AP

Team India missed out on a third title after the Men in Blue defeated Australia by six wickets in the final of the 2023 Cricket World Cup in Ahmedabad on Sunday.

World Cup 2023: News | Schedule | Results | Points table

India came into this game on the back of a 10-match unbeaten run, and while they were heavy favorites going into the final at the Narendra Modi Stadium, Travis Head (137) and Marnus had other plans Labuschagne (58*), as was. helped Australia chase down 241 with seven to spare.

Related Articles


World Cup 2023: ‘Chance to erase 2003 pain’, Netizens react to India facing Australia in final


India vs Australia World Cup Final: Why the two opening powerplays could decide the winner

Earlier, most of the Indian batsmen, Virat Kohli (54), KL Rahul (66) and Rohit Sharma (47) failed to make progress as they were dismissed for a modest total of 240.

Despite the win, India is set to receive a large amount of prize money after the tournament.

While Australia is set to receive a whopping $4 million (Rs 33 crore), runner-up India will receive a cash prize of $2 million (Rs 16 crore).

The two semi-final losers, New Zealand and South Africa, will earn $800,000. The remaining six teams (England, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Afghanistan, Pakistan and the Netherlands) eliminated from the group stage will each receive $100,000.

The winners of each group stage match receive an additional $40,000.

Several awards were also announced at the World Cup final award ceremony in Ahmedabad. While Virat Kohli was named the Player of the Tournament after scoring 765 runs in 11 matches, Travis Head (137) was named the Player of the Tournament for his age who won the title.

This was Australia’s sixth ODI World Cup title, a record in the tournament, and their first since the 2015 World Cup.

Denial of responsibility! is an automatic aggregator around the global media. All the content are available free on Internet. We have just arranged it in one platform for educational purpose only. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials on our website, please contact us by email – at The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Read original article here

Leave a Comment