Will Ashwin become Rohit Sharma’s unexpected weapon in World Cup final?

India is gearing up to face formidable Australia in the final of the Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023 today. The deciding match is scheduled to take place at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad.

According to reports, the pitch is much drier, which could favor spinners. This has led to speculation that Indian captain Rohit Sharma may introduce a twist by including R Ashwin in the playing XI.

Yesterday, Captain Rohit Sharma inspected the pitch for the second day in a row and noticed a slight difference from the track they played on against Pakistan on October 14. Comparing the two, he said, “That wicket (Pakistan game), there was no grass on it. This wicket has some grass on it. That wicket looked much drier than this one – there is no I know, maybe you know, I didn’t look today how the wicket is, but from my understanding it’s obviously going a bit. to be on the slower side.”

“It won’t change much, but it’s nice to see the pitch on game day and then assess what you want to do,” he added.

Pritesh Joshi, currently serving as the side-arm specialist for the Australian team, also noted the dryness of the pitch, suggesting it could help spinners. Joshi suggested that teams opt to bat first, hoping for increased spin later in the game. He also advised India to include spinner Ravichandran Ashwin to counter left-handed openers David Warner and Travis Head.

“The pitch looks dry. The ball can spin. If the team wins the toss and chooses to bat first, it would be better. Because later, the possibility of the ball spinning would higher. There is a bit of grass on the wicket. In the first innings, a score of 300-350 could be made,” he said. Incidentally, Ashwin was part of the Playing XI when India beat Australia in the group stage. In the October 8 match, Indian spinners Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin and Kuldeep Yadav took six wickets together to bowl out Australia for 199 in 49.3 overs. However, there is speculation that Rohit is unlikely to make changes to the winning combination.

Potential Squad:

India: Rohit Sharma (C), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul, Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ishan Kishan, Prasidh Krishna Yadav, Suryav.

Australia squad: Pat Cummins (C), Steve Smith, Alex Carey, Josh Inglis, Sean Abbott, Cameron Green, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Marnus Labuschagne, Mitch Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Marcus Stonis, David Warner, Adam Zampa, Mitchell Stark.

With agency input

Denial of responsibility! vismuseum.org.in is an automatic aggregator around the global media. All the content are available free on Internet. We have just arranged it in one platform for educational purpose only. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials on our website, please contact us by email – at loginhelponline@gmail.com The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Read original article here

Leave a Comment