Why did Australia lose? Controversial wickets debate between Smith-Stoinis | Steve Smith Marcus Stoinis Controversial Wickets Australia vs South Africa ICC ODI Cricket World Cup 2023

Australia vs South Africa

Australia vs South Africa

ICC ODI Cricket World Cup 2023, Australia vs South Africa, Steve Smith and Marcus Stoinis Wickets :

Australia vs South Africa in ODI World Cup 2023 on Thursday (October 12). Australia faced defeat by 134 runs in the match held in Lucknow. This is Australia’s second-most defeat in the tournament. Meanwhile, there was a lot of controversy due to some wickets in the match on Thursday.

Some of the decisions given by the third umpire in this match turned out to be controversial, which also affected the Australian team. The manner in which the wickets of Stevie Smith and Marcus Stoinis fared in this match was much discussed on social media after the match.

What exactly happened?

Chasing the 312-run challenge set by South Africa in this match, Australia lost the first two wickets early. Then Steve Smith and Marnus Labuchen were in charge of Australia’s innings.

Meanwhile, Kagiso Rabada came to bowl in the 10th over. Smith lost his wicket for 19 runs on the 5th ball he bowled. However, this wicket turned out to be controversial. As it turned out, Rabada’s delivery was not hit by Smith, it brushed Smith’s pads. So, South Africa appealed for Paichit.

However, the on-field umpire, predicting that the ball did not hit the stumps, declared it not out. However, the South African players used DRS on it. In which Smith was seen hitting the ball off stump by Rabada and Smith was dismissed. However, everyone was shocked.

Because when the ball hit Smith’s pad, it looked like the ball would not hit the stumps. However, the replay showed that Hawkeye hit the stumps. As a result, many speculated that the replay had gone awry, with many even suggesting that the wicket had been wrongly awarded. Smith too looked disappointed and retreated after this wicket.

A similar controversy arose over Marcus Stoinis’ wicket after Smith’s dismissal. Even in the 18th over, Rabada was bowling. Stoinis tried to hit the second ball he bowled, but he missed it and the ball went behind. At that time the wicketkeeper Quinton de Kock caught him.

South Africa appealed for a catch. But the on-field umpire left the decision to the third umpire. A replay scrutinized by the third umpire showed a spark in the ultraedge as the ball went close to Stoinis’ hand. It was seen that the ball hit the gloves of Stoinis.

But just as the ball was being touched, Stoinis was seen taking his hand away from the bat handle. According to the rules of cricket, when the ball hits the batsman’s hand after it has left the bat, it is given as not out.

However, here the spark of the ball hitting the ball was seen in the ultra edge while his hand was moving to the side. Therefore, the dismissal decision given to him also became controversial. Stoinis is out for 5 runs.

Australia lost

Chasing a target of 312 runs in this match, the Australian team was bowled out for 177 runs in 40.5 overs. Labuchen was the highest scorer for Australia with 46 runs.

Kagiso Rabada also took the most 3 wickets from South Africa. Also Marco Yansin, Keshav Maharaj and Tabraiz Shamsi took two wickets each while Lungi Ngidi took 1 wicket.

Source link

Leave a Comment