New Zealand vs Sri Lanka | NZ vs SL Live Score Updates, ICC World Cup 2023: Tim Southee’s delivery to Kusal Perera results in no run

New Zealand v Sri Lanka

The Kiwis will face the Sri Lankan side in a showdown at Bengaluru’s Chinnaswamy Stadium on Thursday, having qualified for the top four on the line after Australia secured their place in the semi-finals on Tuesday.

This will be the last group game for both teams, with Sri Lanka sitting eighth in the table and needing a win to ensure they are safe to go to the ICC Champions Trophy in 2025. On the other hand, they will have to New Zealand. win to ensure they reach the last four. While a loss won’t knock them out of the top four, other results could spell trouble for the Kiwis.

Sri Lanka come into the match on the back of three consecutive losses, with one of them – the match against India – seeing them lose by a record 302 run margin which led the country’s sports minister to sack the governing body, Sri Lanka Cricket .

New Zealand are also shaky coming into the game, having lost their last four matches against Pakistan, Australia, South Africa and India.

Sri Lanka and New Zealand have faced each other 101 times in the 50-over format, with the Kiwis coming out on top 51 times, while the Lankans have won 41 with one match tied and all eight have been goalless. others.

Rachin Ravindra and Kane WIlliamson come into the game red-hot, with the young Kiwi scoring a century in their last game against Pakistan and captain Kane getting close to his own 100. The Kiwis managed to put up a 400-run total in that match which was canceled by Pakistan when rain forced the match to be decided by DLS method.

Sri Lanka are in much worse form, failing to defend a total of 279 against an abysmal Bangladesh, with bowlers Kasun Rajitha and Dilshan Madushanka being particularly costly, with the former taking no wickets in their turn.


New Zealand: Kane Williamson (c), Trent Boult, Mark Chapman, Devon Conway, Lockie Ferguson, Matt Henry, Tom Latham, Daryl Mitchell, Jimmy Neesham, Glenn Phillips, Rachin Ravindra, Mitch Santner, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, Will Young.

Sri Lanka: Dasun Shanaka (c), Kusal Mendis, Kusal Perera, Pathum Nissanka, Dimuth Karunaratne, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Charith Asalanka, Dhananjaya de Silva, Dushan Hemantha, Maheesh Theekshana, Dunith Wellalage, Kasun Rajitha, Matheesha Pathirana, Lahiru Madushanka

Denial of responsibility! is an automatic aggregator around the global media. All the content are available free on Internet. We have just arranged it in one platform for educational purpose only. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials on our website, please contact us by email – at The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Read original article here

Leave a Comment