India vs New Zealand: Security tightened at Wankhede stadium following threat from unidentified person

The Mumbai Police increased security measures at the Wankhede Stadium on Wednesday ahead of the much-anticipated cricket match between India and New Zealand, following a threat by an unknown individual.

An unknown person, in a post on X (formerly Twitter), warned of a possible incident during the highly anticipated cricket match between India and New Zealand. The anonymous post, tagged Mumbai Police, contained an image of a gun, hand grenades, and bullets, prompting heightened vigilance in and around the stadium.

“A person, whose identity is not yet known, sent a threatening message directed at the Mumbai Police on X (formerly Twitter), suggesting a malicious incident during the India vs. New Zealand match at the Wankhede Stadium today. Tight security measures are in place enforcement in the neighborhood. The individual mentioned the Mumbai Police in the post and included a photograph of a gun, hand grenades, and bullets,” said a Mumbai Police official.

Meanwhile, the police have arrested a 17-year-old youth from Latur district in connection with the Twitter post.

“Mumbai Crime Branch has detained a 17-year-old youth from Latur district. The reason why he posted the threatening message is yet to be ascertained,” Mumbai Police said today.

The semi-final is eagerly awaited, with India taking on New Zealand in the first semi-final of the ICC Cricket World Cup at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai. While the Kiwis are aiming to reach their third consecutive World Cup final, India are determined to overcome the hurdle that has prevented them from winning a major ICC title since 2013. India’s squad includes Rohit Sharma (c), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul, Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ishan Kishan, Prasidh Krishna, and Suryakumar Yadav.The New Zealand squad consists of Kane Williamson (c), Trent Boult, Mark Chapman, Devon Conway, Lockie Ferguson, Kyle Jamieson, Tom Latham, Daryl Mitchell, Jimmy Neesham, Glenn Phillips, Rachin Ravindra, Mitch Santner, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, and Will Young.

Denial of responsibility! is an automatic aggregator around the global media. All the content are available free on Internet. We have just arranged it in one platform for educational purpose only. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials on our website, please contact us by email – at The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Read original article here

Leave a Comment