‘I apologize’: David Warner to Indian fan for breaking a billion hearts in World Cup 2023 final

Veteran Australian opener David Warner is popular for his performances in Indian Premier League (IPL). He also remains in the news for his India-centric posts on social media and field theaters. Recently, after Australia’s World Cup win, Warner’s response to a user’s comment has gone viral. The user said that Warner was “broken a billion hearts”.

In response, Warner humbly apologized, acknowledging the incredible game and the electric atmosphere India created. He thanked everyone for making the event great. Warner replied: “My apologies, it was a great game and the atmosphere was unbelievable. India put on a real event. Thank you all”

On Sunday, Australia beat the hosts by six wickets in front of nearly 100,000 in Ahmedabad to clinch their sixth one-day World Cup crown.

In the 2023 World Cup, Warner showcased his batting prowess, amassing 535 runs in 11 matches, at an average of 48.63 and a strike rate of 108.29, ranking sixth in the list of highest run scorers.

Warner, 37, was also in the limelight for his fielding skills. He was ranked second in the ICC Fielding Impact Ratings conducted in association with Sportradar. He took eight catches and saved as many as 23 runs on the field.

Warner has withdrawn from Australia’s squad for the 5-match Twenty20 series in India, which starts from November 23. The opening match in Visakhapatnam is followed by matches in Thiruvananthapuram on November 26 and Guwahati on November 28. Aaron Hardie replaces Warner in the opening match in Visakhapatnam.

“The selectors decided that Warner would return home following a successful but demanding World Cup campaign,” Cricket Australia said in a statement.

For the hosts, Suryakumar Yadav will captain India for the first time in the absence of regular skipper Rohit Sharma.

India Squad: Suryakumar Yadav (Capt), Ruturaj Gaikwad (vice-captain), Ishan Kishan, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Tilak Varma, Rinku Singh, Jitesh Sharma (wk), Washington Sundar, Axar Patel, Shivam Dube, Ravi Bishnoi, Arshdeep Singh, Prasidh Krishna, Avesh Khan, Mukesh Kumar.

Australia Squad: Matthew Wade (Capt), Aaron Hardie, Jason Behrendorff, Sean Abbott, Tim David, Nathan Ellis, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Glenn Maxwell, Tanveer Sangha, Matt Short, Steve Smith, Marcus Stonis, Kane Richardson, Adam Zampa.

Denial of responsibility! vismuseum.org.in is an automatic aggregator around the global media. All the content are available free on Internet. We have just arranged it in one platform for educational purpose only. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials on our website, please contact us by email – at loginhelponline@gmail.com The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Read original article here

Leave a Comment