Dodgy start to beating India in final

Australia’s wait for a record-extending sixth ODI World Cup title ended on Sunday as Pat Cummins and Co take on India in Sunday’s final at Ahmedabad’s Narendra Modi Stadium.

World Cup 2023: News | Schedule | Results | Points table

Australia advanced to the final by defeating South Africa by three wickets in a nervy semi-final at the Eden Gardens in Kolkata. For India, his six-wicket win over the Aussies in Ahmedabad was a grim reminder of the 2003 World Cup title decider, in which Australia beat India by 125 runs.

Related Articles

World Cup 2023: ‘Chance to erase 2003 pain’, Netizens react to India facing Australia in final


World Cup final: Indian fans perform ‘havan and pooja’ for Team India’s victory in Ahmedabad; LOOK

Here we look at Australia’s road to the 2023 World Cup title.

Game 1: Australia vs India

India were down and out by Australia in Chennai before Virat Kohli and KL Rahul came to the rescue of the Men in Blue. AP

Australia started their 2023 World Cup campaign on a sour note as they went down by six wickets at the hands of India. The Aussies suffered a middle-order collapse to be bowled out for 199, but India were on the mat at 2/3. Virat Kohli and KL Rahul, however, fought back brilliantly to guide the team home to a six-wicket win.

Game 2: Australia vs South Africa

Australia got their second win of the tournament, when they were beaten by South Africa by 134 runs in Lucknow. South Africa posted 311/7 at Lucknow’s Ekana Stadium riding on Quinton de Kock’s second century in as many overs. Kagiso Rabada then took 3/33 to bowl Australia out for 177.

Game 3: Australia vs Sri Lanka

Australia finally got the upper hand with a five-wicket win over Sri Lanka in Lucknow. Adam Zampa’s four-wicket haul restricted Sri Lanka to 209, and Australia comfortably went down the target with 88 balls to spare.

Game 4: Australia vs Pakistan

Australia posted 367 against Pakistan. The explosive batting of Mitchell Marsh (121) and David Warner (163) sent Australia to victory by 62 runs. Adam Zampa’s four-wicket haul restricted Pakistan to 305.

Game 5: Australia vs Netherlands

Australia dominated the Netherlands, scoring 399/8 with explosive performances from David Warner, Steve Smith, and Glenn Maxwell. Adam Zampa came up with a four-wicket haul and ensured an emphatic 309-run victory for Australia.

Game 6: Australia vs New Zealand

Travis Head made a great comeback for Australia as he registered a superb century to guide Australia to 388. Despite a fight back from New Zealand, Australia won by five runs.

Game 7: Australia vs England

Led by Chris Woakes, the England bowlers restricted Australia to 286. Despite the efforts of Ben Stokes and Dawid Malan, Adam Zampa’s three-wicket haul resulted in a 33-run victory for Australia.

Game 8: Australia vs Afghanistan

Australian all-rounder Glenn Maxwell celebrates after leading his team to an emphatic victory over Afghanistan in their World Cup match in Mumbai. AP

All-tournament star Glenn Maxwell played arguably the best ODI innings of all time as his unbeaten 201 sealed Australia’s miraculous three-wicket victory over Afghanistan.

Game 9: Australia vs Bangladesh

In their final series match, Australia faced little trouble as they comfortably chased down a target of 307 against Bangladesh.

Game 10: Australia vs South Africa

Australia cruised to a three-wicket semi-final win over South Africa in tough conditions at the Eden Gardens, Kolkata. The Aussies had reduced the Proteas to 24/4 at one stage before a brave ton from David Miller rescued them to 212. Australia would then start on an explosive note and survive another fightback from the South Africans, the this time led by the spinners, before. getting over the line with three wickets and 16 deliveries to spare.

Final: India vs Australia

India had entered the title fight against Australia as the favorite not only of the hosts, but also after maintaining a 10-game winning streak. But a Cricket World Cup final can be a whole other ball game. It certainly was. Australia won the toss and India took the lead. Although Rohit Sharma (47 off 31 balls) got off to a good start, India skipper Glenn Maxwell was dismissed in the 10th over, just a few runs after India lost Shubman Gill.

Later, Virat Kohli (54) and KL Rahul (66) forged a 66-run stand for the fourth wicket, but the boundaries were hard to come by, and India were eventually bowled out for 240.

Australia were restricted to 47/3 at one stage after the dismissal of David Warner, Mitchell Marsh and Steve Smith. However, a 192-run stand between Travis Head (137) and Marnus Labuschagne (58*) would set the stage for Australia’s victory.

Although Yin was dismissed in the 43rd over with Australia needing just two runs, Glenn Maxwell would walk out to bat and finish the match with a brace, helping Australia seal their sixth ODI World Cup title.

Denial of responsibility! is an automatic aggregator around the global media. All the content are available free on Internet. We have just arranged it in one platform for educational purpose only. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials on our website, please contact us by email – at The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Read original article here

Leave a Comment