Angelo Mathews: Angelo Mathews becomes first ‘timed out’ dismissal in international cricket

Sri Lanka’s Angelo Mathews was controversially given a “time-out” in the World Cup clash against Bangladesh on Monday, becoming the first man to suffer the dismissal in the 146-year history of international cricket.

The former captain took more than two minutes to strike and opposition skipper Shakib Al Hasan appealed, which was upheld by the on-field umpire.

Mathews came into bat after the fall of Sadeera Samarawickrama in the 25th over but was unable to secure his helmet strap tightly enough, delaying the resumption of play.

After Bangladesh’s appeal, the umpires had a long discussion with the players including Mathews.

They ruled Mathews to be out and the 36-year-old veteran soldier reluctantly out with the audience who seemed the most amused by the decision. A number of Bangladeshi fans applauded.

Writing on X, formerly known as Twitter, former South African fast bowler Dale Steyn said: “Well, that wasn’t great”. “Australian Test batsman Usman Khawaja also berated the decision.

“Angelo did his belt then his helmet strap broke. How has that time passed? I’m all out if he doesn’t do his belt but this is reaaa. to face,” he wrote on social media.

According to the laws of cricket, after the fall of a wicket or the retirement of a batsman, the incoming player must be ready to receive the ball within two minutes.

The Association of Cricket Statisticians and Historians said there are “periodic” situations in first-class cricket.

“No cases recorded in List A or Twenty20 cricket until Mathews,” they wrote on X, formerly known as Twitter.

The highly experienced Mathews was playing in his 225th one-day international on Monday in a career that has seen 5,900 runs and 122 wickets.

He played 106 Tests and 78 Twenty20 internationals.

There are 10 methods of dismissal in cricket, the most uncommon of which is “time-out”.

Former India captain Sourav Ganguly managed to escape his time when he had to enter the field after a wicket fell during the South Africa Test at Cape Town in 2007.

India had lost a wicket and with the next batsman Sachin Tendulkar not allowed to take the field due to the time he spent off the field, with VVS Laxman taking a shower, the onus fell on Ganguly, who was still in his tracksuit.

The time limit in Tests was three minutes but Proteas skipper Graeme Smith did not appeal and patiently waited for Ganguly to tackle him despite having exceeded the time limit.

Denial of responsibility! is an automatic aggregator around the global media. All the content are available free on Internet. We have just arranged it in one platform for educational purpose only. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials on our website, please contact us by email – at The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Read original article here

Leave a Comment