Dallas Cowboys legends Darren Woodson and DeMarcus Ware named the Hall of Fame finalists

0 30

Former Dallas Cowboys stars Darren Woodson and DeMarcus Ware are among 15 National Football League legends who have reached the threshold for induction into the Pro Football Hall of Fame as finalists for the Class of 2023.

Ware is a finalist for the second consecutive year and a favorite going into 2023.

Ware played with the Dallas Cowboys from 2005-2013 before completing his final three seasons with the Denver Broncos in 2014-2016.

He led the Cowboys in sacks for eight seasons, 2005-2012, and led the NFL with 20 sacks (2008) and 15.5 sacks (2010).

At 117, he still holds the Cowboys’ career record. He was selected as a first-team All-Pro four times (2007–09, 2011); three second-team All-Pro (2006, 2010, 2012) and selected to nine Pro Bowls (2007-2013, 2015-16).

He was named to the NFL’s All-Decade Team of the 2000s.

Ware won Super Bowl 50 with the Broncos and finished his career with 138.5 sacks.

Ware played on only one losing team during his career and helped lead his teams to five playoff appearances.

Woodson played his entire career with the Cowboys from 1992 to 2003.

Woodson, who was selected in the second round of the 1992 NFL Draft with a pick received as part of the Herschel Walker trade, was a member of three Super Bowl championship teams with Dallas (XXVII, XXVIII, XXX).

He finished his career as the Cowboys’ all-time tackle leader with 1,350. He received first team All-Pro honors four seasons (1994-96, 1998) and attended five Pro Bowls (1994-98).

In 2015, he was voted into the Dallas Cowboys ring of honor

The list of inductees in the Modern Era category will be considered when the Hall of Fame selection committee meets virtually before Super Bowl LVII.

The Class of 2023 will be publicly inducted on February 9 during the Phoenix NFL Honors Presented by Invisalign broadcast on NFL Network, NBC and Peacock.

The full list of finalists includes:

  • Jared AllenDefensive End – Kansas City Chiefs 2004-07, Minnesota Vikings 2008-2013, Chicago Bears 2014-15, Carolina Panthers 2015

  • Willy AndersonOffensive tackle – 1996-2007 Cincinnati Bengals, 2008 Baltimore Ravens

  • round barberCornerback/Safety – 1997-2012 Tampa Bay Buccaneers

  • Dwight FreeneyDefensive End/Outside Linebacker – Indianapolis Colts 2002-2012, San Diego Chargers 2013-14, Arizona Cardinals 2015, Atlanta Falcons 2016, Seattle Seahawks 2017, Detroit Lions 2017

  • Devin HesterPunt Returner/Kick Returner/Wide Receiver – Chicago Bears 2006-2013, Atlanta Falcons 2014-15, Baltimore Ravens 2016

  • Torry HoltWide receivers – 1999-2008 St. Louis Rams, 2009 Jacksonville Jaguars

  • Andre JohnsonWide Receivers – 2003-2014 Houston Texans, 2015 Indianapolis Colts, 2016 Tennessee Titans

  • Albert LewisCornerback – 1983-1993 Kansas City Chiefs, 1994-98 Los Angeles/Oakland Raiders

  • darrell revCornerbacks – 2007-2012 New York Jets, 2013 Tampa Bay Buccaneers, 2014 New England Patriots, 2015-16 New York Jets, 2017 Kansas City Chiefs

  • joe thomasOffensive tackle – 2007-2017 Cleveland Browns

  • Zach ThomasLinebackers – 1996-2007 Miami Dolphins, 2008 Dallas Cowboys

  • DeMarcusWareLinebacker/Defensive End – 2005-2013 Dallas Cowboys, 2014-16 Denver Broncos

  • Reggie WayneWide receivers – 2001-2014 Indianapolis Colts

  • Patrick WillisLinebackers – 2007-2014 San Francisco 49ers

  • Darren WoodsonSafety – 1992-2003 Dallas Cowboys


Leave A Reply